Allo' Expat Beijing - Connecting Expats in Beijing
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Beijing Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter

   Information Center Beijing
Beijing General Information
History of Beijing
Beijing Culture
Beijing Cuisine
Beijing Geography
Beijing Population
Beijing Government
Beijing Economy
Beijing Communications
Beijing Transportations
Beijing Military
Beijing Transnational Issues
Beijing Climate & Environment
Beijing Flora & Fauna
Beijing Media
Beijing Expatriates Handbook
Beijing and Foreign Government
Beijing General Listings
Beijing Useful Tips
Beijing Education & Medical
Beijing Travel & Tourism Info
Beijing Lifestyle & Leisure
Beijing Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Beijing Government

Beijing is structured in a dual party-government system like all other governing institutions in the mainland of the People's Republic of China.

The Mayor of Beijing is the highest-ranking official in the People's Government of Beijing. Since Beijing is a centrally administered municipality, the mayor occupies the same level in the order of precedence as provincial governors. However, in the city's dual party-government governing system, the mayor has less power than the Beijing Communist Party of China Municipal Committee Secretary.

The position of Beijing Municipal Committee Secretary has always had its share of national prestige and exposure. It is now de facto standard for the Secretary to be a member of the Politburo of the Communist Party of China, the country's top ruling organ. Because of Beijing's position as the national capital, the Secretary is also involved in major decision making of national events. Xie Fuzhi, whose term lasted from 1967 to 1972, had significant influence over the national government during the Cultural Revolution. Chen Xitong's (term 1992-95) influence was considered a threat to the Shanghai clique that he was forcibly removed from the position and tried for corruption.

Beijing Municipality currently comprises 16 administrative county-level subdivisions including 14 urban and suburban districts and two rural counties. On 1 July 2010, Chongwen and Xuanwu Districts were merged into Dongcheng and Xicheng Districts, respectively.

Beijing's 16 districts and counties are further subdivided into 273 lower third-level administrative units at the township level – 119 towns, 24 townships, 5 ethnic townships and 125 sub districts.





copyrights ©
2015 | Policy